top of page

Stanford's Maverick McNealy Wins 2015 Fred Haskins Award Presented by Stifel

Honoring the Nation’s Most Outstanding Golfer, McNealy Follows in the Footsteps of Fellow Stanford Alums and Haskins Award Winners Patrick Rodgers and Tiger Woods

Arizona State’s Jon Rahm and Georgia’s Lee McCoy Runners-Up

McNealy Receives Invitation to Compete in the 2015 Greenbrier Classic

BRADENTON, Fla. – Stanford sophomore Maverick McNealy is the winner of the 2015 Fred Haskins Award Presented by Stifel, culminating a 2014-15 regular season that included nine top-10 finishes – including six victories – a 68.70 overall stroke average, the Pac-12 Championship and Pac-12 Player of the Year.

McNealy joins an illustrious list of past Haskins Award winners including Stanford alum Patrick Rodgers (2014) and Tiger Woods (1996). The Haskins Award presented by Stifel recognizes the nation’s most outstanding golfer as selected by his peers, coaches and the golf media. McNealy accepted the Haskins Award this evening live on Golf Channel following the conclusion of the final round of the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships individual stroke play competition.

McNealy also will receive a sponsor’s exemption to compete in The Greenbrier Classic on the PGA TOUR, taking place on the renowned Old White TPC in West Virginia during the first week of July.

Arizona State junior and 2015 Ben Hogan Award winner Jon Rahm and Georgia junior Lee McCoy were the two runners-up for the Haskins Award.

“It is pretty cool to be the third Stanford guy to win the award,” said McNealy. “It is a humbling list of names to be on the trophy with. It is really cool to be in the same conversation with those people.”

Since 1971, the Haskins Award has honored the nation’s outstanding male collegiate golfer as selected by his peers. Winners include legends on the PGA TOUR, headlined by three-time recipients Ben Crenshaw and Phil Mickelson.

In partnership with Stifel, Golf Channel, Golfweek and the Fred Haskins Commission, the Haskins Award is recognized as one of the most prestigious awards in men’s college golf. Voting for the Haskins Award took place following the conclusion of the NCAA Men’s Regional Golf Championships and closed Sunday, May 31. Following the close of voting, the Haskins Commission verified the votes and determined the winner, with the presentation airing live on Golf Channel earlier tonight. The Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings are used to identify the top male collegiate golfers throughout the year.

Stifel, a wealth management and investment banking firm based in St. Louis, Mo., recently renewed a three-year contract with the Fred Haskins Commission, a non-profit group in Columbus, Ga., which has managed the voting process for the Haskins Award for 44 years.

Born in Great Britain, the late Fred Haskins was resident pro at the Country Club of Columbus. He taught the nuances of golf to young people in Saturday morning clinics that never cost more than a dime.

Winners of the Haskins Award presented by Stifel have captured 28 majors and nearly 300 professional tournaments around the world. Recipients include Tiger Woods of Stanford, Graeme McDowell of Alabama-Birmingham, Ben Crenshaw of Texas, Curtis Strange of Wake Forest and Phil Mickelson of Arizona State. Young stalwarts such as Russell Henley of Georgia, Justin Thomas of Alabama and Patrick Rodgers of Stanford are joining the game’s best on weekly leaderboards.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts

bottom of page